Wisconsin 2nd

Highlighted district in southern central section of Wisconsin

Wisconsin’s 2nd congressional district includes the counties of Dane, Iowa, Lafayette, Sauk, and Green, as well as portions of Richland and Rock. The largest municipalities include Madison, Beloit, Sun Prairie, Fitchburg, Middleton, Stoughton, Waunakee, Monroe and Verona.

U.S. House Representative

Mark Pocan headshot; US House Office of Photography; Public domain
Mark Pocan

Mark Pocan

  • Serving 2013–Present (House website)
  • Member, Democratic Party
  • Co-chair, Congressional Progressive Caucus
  • Co-chair, Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus



2020 Dates

  • Candidate filing deadline: June 1, 2020
  • Partisan primary election: August 11, 2020
  • Voter registration deadlines: varies by method (myvote.wi.gov)
  • Absentee ballot request deadline: October 29, 2020
  • General election: November 3, 2020



Newspapers accepting unsolicited letters or opinions:


For learn more about nonpartisan organizing and activities in Madison and Wisconsin’s 2nd Congressional District, contact:

Robert Beets, profile photo

Robert Beets
Madison WI
@robertbeets / @sciencebeets


Neighborhood groups

Social justice, service and rights

Political parties

County governments